Snow and ice warnings issued across Ireland

Hundreds of homes have been left without power as a result.

A Status Yellow snow and ice warning has been issued for a number of counties across Ireland.

The eight counties affected are Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Louth, Leitrim, Roscommon and Sligo, and it will be valid from 6am on Sunday morning until 7am the next day.

Met √Čireann also warned of the risk of icy stretches on untreated surfaces.

A Status Yellow wind warning is then also in place in Donegal, Galway, Mayo, Sligo, Clare, Cork and Kerry from 6pm this evening until 2pm on Monday.

Northwesterly winds associated with Storm Bella (named by the UK Met Office), will veer northly overnight.

They will reach mean speeds of 50 to 65km/h with gusts of 90 to 110km/h. Winds will also be stronger in exposed areas and on higher ground.

Finally, there are also Status Yellow snow and ice warnings in place up north for Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Tyrone and Derry, valid until 3pm today.

Later tonight, another Status Yellow snow warning will become valid up north, remaining in place from 6pm to 10am tomorrow.

According to ESB’s PowerCheck website, almost 200 homes have been left without power as a result of the adverse weather conditions.